Skip to content

I must direct your attention to this post over…

July 4, 2007

at Heather’s Poor Excuse on How not to read the bible.

I proclaim this post AWESOME. Girl said quite clearly what has been on my mind, and which I have not been able to properly articulate.

om17-the_goddess_place.jpg
I was even more glad to read it, because I had just finished reading a post elsewhere that written by a woman who is a former Christian, now atheist. In her post, this woman says the fact that the female deities of anitquity were quashed and supplanted by the God of the invading patriarchal warrior tribes who ultimately were the founders of Judaism is basically more “proof” in the pudding that there is no God – that all concepts of God are culturally convenient myths.

That post depressed me, because I don’t particularly see that as proof that there is no “God” per se.  I see that as further proof that the human capacity to know and describe is limited. The divine isn’t the issue so much as humanity is. Humans learn through their senses: sight, taste, touch, sound, smell. The divine can’t be known that way, can’t be learned about that way, unless, we some how are able to see glimpses of it in one another.

But, I guess I’m just blathering now. So…

Go read Heather’s post to see why it made me feel better, and restored some of my own faith. Go on. Go. Shooo.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 4, 2007 9:17 am

    That was excellent. Thanks for bird dogging it.

  2. July 4, 2007 9:22 am

    … the fact that there were women deities which were quashed by the patriarchal warrior tribes that ultimately became Judaism is basically more “proof” in the pudding that there is no God …

    Why is is that when individuals reject the description of God as found in the OT that they then decided there is not God?

    To summon up an old worn out cliche:

    Baby. Bathwater. Both out the door.

    Like I was just telling someone on another blog, I still find Jesus deeply compelling. I don’t reject his insight or his wisdom. I think he “got it.” I just wish I could find a way to connect with him (and with God through him) that didn’t include all the layers upon layers of dogma that has been applied by the church.

    I have found that attempting to strip the layers though, is fruitless. I’m at a point where I find the “quest for a historical Jesus” depressing (and futile), and I (currently) don’t find the mythology surrounding him compelling.

    Sigh.

    As you say, the human capacity to describe the Divine is limited. In fact, it’s infinitely limited.

  3. episcopalifem permalink*
    July 4, 2007 9:36 am

    I have had similar issues to what you are feeling, Kay. I have just decided that all that is between me and the divine. I am culturally a Christian – although one with a decidedly more Borg/Crossan/Spong bend, and my spiritual needs get feed there, especially when it’s along more progressive Christian lines. I don’t worry about how other Christians categorize me anymore. I am happy to be among those who have learned something from the life of Christ, and I am comforted greatly by the structure of liturgy, and the concept of the trinity (as a panentheist, I don’t have a problem with that symbol/myth/construct. I see God in all things anyway – three/one – whatever.)

    Some people will see the divine as I see it, others won’t. Some will vehemently argue with me that God IS the dogma and doctrine (which I obviously reject), and for those folks, I guess that is their reality.

    As Heather says, God meets us where we are. Some of us are more ready for the possibililty that God is “more” and yet “less” at the same time. Others need to believe that they have the one, really true God, absolutely, fer sure.

    That has more to do with human limitation than a limitation of the divine. More to do with human psyche than divine reality.

    My little .2 cents for what it’s worth.

  4. July 4, 2007 10:44 am

    I didn’t hear blathering. I heard really good, thoughtful writing and was sorry you stopped yourself so abruptly and called it blathering. 😉

  5. Heather permalink
    July 4, 2007 12:02 pm

    Hear, hear! And thanks for the kind words.

  6. episcopalifem permalink*
    July 4, 2007 12:59 pm

    ::blushes:: Thanks Nina.

    Heather – de nada baby, de nada. You gets the good thoughts award today – my head is too full of abnormal psychology.

  7. July 5, 2007 9:50 am

    I was gonna write a long diatribe, but Eileen covered it so nicely in comment #3 that I’ll just add a “me, too.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

