Skip to content

I’ve been tagged by Kay for the 8 Random Facts about Me Meme

June 26, 2007

I’ve played before, but since I’m apparently so egotistical (see quiz below), I figured I’d give you all 8 more things to know about me.

I will, however, end the meme with me, as it’s made the rounds.

1) I have only one sibling – a younger brother. He lives 20 mins from me, and if we see each other 5-6 times a year, it’s alot. Not because we don’t like each other (we do), but because we just get busy doing the stuff that makes up life I guess.

2) The saying:

Lamb of God, you take away the sins of the world, have mercy on us.
Lamb of God, you take away the sins of the world, have mercy on us.
Lamb of God, you take away the sins of the world, grant us your peace.

…makes me cry. If it’s being sung, I bawl. I guess I just don’t think I’m worthy.

3) I hate confrontation in real life (and I don’t like it much in “fake” life either!) I’d rather stuff it then argue about it – I get so overwhelmed by the negativity energy of arguing.

4) I like Stephen King. Alot.

5) I had a huge crush on one of my English professors in college. He was brilliant. He’d taught English in China for a few years, and seemed very worldly and knowledgeable to me. Plus, he made you THINK. I just loved him. At the end of the second course I had with him, I gave him a card thanking him for being a challenging teacher, who had opened my eyes and taught be alot about World Literature. A few years after graduating, I opened the obituary section of the paper (which I hardly ever did), and saw that he had died of pneumonia related to AIDS- my secret English teacher crush had been a faithfully partnered gay man. In retrospect there had been many clues, and he was struggling with the illness when he was my teacher. I cried for two days.

5) I grew up across the street from my 4 cousins (one of whom just got married over the weekend) – 3 boys (all around my age) and 1 girl (five years younger than me), and I have a brother. Because their sister was so much younger than them, girls were a complete oddity to them when we all first met when we were in the 3-5yo range. In great distress, they went to their mom to tell her that “Eileen’s lost her pee-pee! It musta felled off!” They were all gravely concerned. Despite being inundated with guys, and knowing all about guy stuff, I didn’t become all masculine and stayed quite feminine. I attribute this to the fact that when we all played “war” the “boys” never let me carry a gun, and always made me be the nurse. I always tried to shoot them with my finger gun, but, they would laugh at me and tell me nurses didn’t carry guns. Not what their uncle the Viet Nam nurse told me. I learned alot from those days.

6) Bugs gross me out. Especially spiders and bees.

7) I have a terrible sweet tooth. I love chocolate cake, brownies, chocolates, carmels, etc. I have the natural metabolism of a slug, and a 5′ body: this is an awful combination.

8. If I can’t have sweets, then for God’s sake give me cheese. I like most kinds of cheese (although, some of the stinky cheeses are not among my favorites). My favorite cheese comfort foods are grilled cheese, mac and cheese and pizza. YUM.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

