Skip to content

Feminist Canon

June 21, 2007

Through a feminist site I found, I came across this reading list.

I’m a feminist naturally – I haven’t really done much formal study. My reading list just got longer. Sigh.

If only I could quit my job and stay home and read, read, read. I’d be so happy.

Fellow feminists (gals and guys), join me in enjoying the list, and heading to AMAZON.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2007 12:27 pm

    Or your local independent bookstore. πŸ™‚

    Great list! I’ve read all, or pieces of, a surprising number of those.

  2. episcopalifem permalink*
    June 22, 2007 12:33 pm

    I haven’t read any of them…

    I’m an instinctual feminist…I shall be reading pronto!

  3. rick allen permalink
    June 22, 2007 1:37 pm

    I’m surprised Virginia Woofe’s “A Room of One’s Own” was left off. Surely an important foundation, and an excellent read (and I probably don’t even qualify in most eyes as a feminist….).

  4. episcopalifem permalink*
    June 22, 2007 3:25 pm

    Thanks Rick! That one is on my list too.

    I have not read anything by Virginia Wolfe either. Shame on me!

  5. sallysjourney permalink
    June 22, 2007 4:14 pm

    thanks for this πŸ™‚

  6. June 23, 2007 10:49 am

    That’s one of my favourite blogs. And she writes for my magazine πŸ™‚

    She writes the profiles on women. Good stuff.

  7. episcopalifem permalink*
    June 24, 2007 5:34 pm

    Trudi.. Can I just say again that I am so stoked about your magazine! It’s so cool for you (and for me, who enjoys reading it).

  8. June C permalink
    June 25, 2007 12:07 pm

    Yes, Eileen, why don’t you be a good little wify feminist and stay home, make cookies and read to your heart’s content? Whatever you do, please do NOT forget to wear an apron.

  9. episcopalifem permalink*
    June 25, 2007 3:00 pm

    June = Mimi? Or no?

  10. July 31, 2007 4:27 pm

    Hey, I just saw this. I’m so stoked that someone found my list and is using it! I’d love to hear what you’ve started with and what you think of it.

    Re: “A Room of One’s Own,” no disagreement from me. It’s one of many possibilities I left off that would certainly be worth a read.

  11. episcopalifem permalink*
    August 1, 2007 1:40 pm

    Howdy Grace! My reading list is soooo long at the moment. At the moment, I am reading: Gilead for my book club, and also, I’ve started reading The Brooklyn Follies – also for my book club – among three or five others…lmao.

    I’m ashamed to say I haven’t had a chance to read a one of them.

    My plan is to start with Cunt, though, and I’ve just ordered it.

    That will look interesting on my nightstand, I think.

Leave a Reply

