Skip to content

All the depression talk today over at MadPriest’s…

June 12, 2007

led me to post this:

insanity.jpg

19 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2007 6:52 pm

    Eileen, How about this fridge magnet: I don’t suffer from insanity, I enjoy every minute of it!

    I’m a sister in the bi-polar world, recently diagnoses and thrilled to finally understand the last 15 years of my life. Though I have to say some of those hypomanias I’m really gonna miss …

  2. episcopalifem permalink*
    June 12, 2007 7:17 pm

    Yeah…I gotta say…when I first went on meds, I told my doctor I didn’t like them, because I felt like I needed to be able to get by on 4 -4 1/2 hours of sleep a night for weeks/months on end, because my life was so hectic.

    She was like, um, Eileen…that’s not normal. lmao

  3. June 12, 2007 9:05 pm

    “She was like, um, Eileen…that’s not normal.”

    Heh. Yeah, it’s too bad when the characteristics of your “madness” (to use Maddie’s terminology) are convenient for yourself or others 😉

    But ultimately, ya gotta take care of yourself…

  4. episcopalifem permalink*
    June 12, 2007 9:18 pm

    I know, David…and honestly, after a while, lack of sleep makes you psycho – even when you are hypomanic.

    So..I take my meds like a good girl, and I sleep at least 6-7 hours a night now.

  5. June 12, 2007 9:42 pm

    I complained to my doctor that I was walking my dog much, much slower than usual. He assured me that my new pace would be usual for most people. Bummer.

    Another manic friend said her doctor had recently suggested that cleaning the silverware drawer at 2 a.m. might not be normal. I told her, “Damn, why don’t I ever get those cleaning manias I hear about?”

  6. episcopalifem permalink*
    June 12, 2007 9:49 pm

    Yeah…I don’t cleaning manias either. I get the blogging kind…or the reading kind. Definitely NOT the cleaning kind. If I did, my husband would NEVER let me take my meds…lmao

  7. June 12, 2007 10:57 pm

    Well, my particular dysfunction is rapid-cycling mixed bipolar which I find almost paralyzing: the mind’s going a million miles an hour at the same time it’s depressed. Can’t relax and can’t actually do much. Comes on fast, but (fortunately) usually doesn’t last long. The sad thing is the condition may have been aggravated during a non-insurance period when my meds came from a GP who didn’t really know that much about them. I think a few days of hypomania would do me good!

  8. June 12, 2007 10:58 pm

    P.S. I like your new look!

  9. June 12, 2007 11:14 pm

    I also have ADD, and have struggled w/depression on and off. Oddly enough, my depression got much better on Ritalin.

    Where was I… oh, I remember–hey, look, a lizard!

    You were saying?

  10. episcopalifem permalink*
    June 13, 2007 5:37 am

    Ed – That”s rough. I get the racing thoughts stuff too, and paralyzing indecision.

    Of course, these are also characteristic of adult (and childhood) ADD.

    And, ADD meds and bipolar disorder are not friends. So…no stimulants for me (could induce a full blown mania, you know).

    So basically, I spend lots of time, mentally running around in circles and getting NOTHING done. And starting a million things, and doing a million things all at once.

    K. – Not surprised about the lifting of depression after the Ritalin – I’ve read that the ability to focus and actually “improve” your effectiveness/efficiency is enough to boost self-esteem to lift depression. That, and realizing that you aren’t “defective” – your brain is just hardwired differently.

  11. June 13, 2007 9:50 am

    It was just weird; I’d been on Celexa for a month with no effect. The first time I swallowed a Ritalin, the effect was instant: “Oh, this is what it’s like to have a brain!” The depression went away very quickly after that.

    I’m not medicated now, and probably should be; it was too frustrating to have to take something every 2 hours. (Short-acting Ritalin is dosed for 8-year-old boys; everyone I know who’s tried the long-acting variety says it doesn’t work.) So I try other strategies instead.

    Would non-stimulant ADD meds work for you? One of my friends takes Concerta and is very happy with it.

  12. episcopalifem permalink*
    June 13, 2007 9:55 am

    I actually take Cymbalta…and it seems to have a focusing affect. And I take the very mild Neurontin for my mood lability.

    I could talk to my Nurse Practioner about it. She’s cool. I’ll see her again in August.

  13. June 13, 2007 10:32 am

    Good luck!

  14. June 13, 2007 11:13 am

    6-7 hours.
    Ha! Pull the other one.
    Even if I’m the last person you contact before bed and the first person you contact on getting up, I reckon 5 hours top.
    And what’s going on with this site? It’s a bit posh, ain’t it?

  15. episcopalifem permalink*
    June 13, 2007 11:34 am

    #1) Hush up, Priest.
    #2) Hush up, Priest.
    #3) You like having your leg pulled. Or is that having your belly scratched?
    #4) OK…so 5 hours is better than 4, isn’t it?
    #5) See..#s 1 & 2

    My diggs are posh. Like me. The picture on the top is actually my favorite time of year. I love the fall. The colors, the sweater weather. The leaves and the earthy smell. The way the leaves will all come down in a good rainstorm.

  16. June 13, 2007 12:26 pm

    My, my, what an “interesting” group of folks who visit here.

    Whoops! I guess that includes me.

  17. June 13, 2007 12:45 pm

    Ed, my dear, we keep finding more and more in common. Sorry about the mixed state. That was me in my last church. Which is why I’m not there any more.

  18. June 13, 2007 2:17 pm

    Eileen wrote, “I love the fall. The colors, the sweater weather. The leaves and the earthy smell. The way the leaves will all come down in a good rainstorm.”

    Absolutely! I just wish I lived somewhere that had a real Fall (and more trees).

    Loved Autumn in the Rockies when I lived in southwestern Colorado. The Aspen trees turn golden and have an almost sweet fragrance and the air is cool, dry & crisp…

  19. episcopalifem permalink*
    June 13, 2007 2:20 pm

    I don’t think I could live where there was no fall or winter.

    I like change too much.

    It’s the bipolar and ADD in me.

Leave a Reply

