Skip to content

A post on Hodos – the Way – from Songs of Unforgetting

May 22, 2007

I stumbled across this blog yesterday, and while there came across this post on HODOS – the way. Kay, the blog author, describes herself as a Christian panentheist (sound sort of familiar?).

As this particular post demonstrates, I very much like the way Kay thinks – her thoughts hold great value for me! Do go take a gander at this blog. It’s very beautiful and quite erudite (unlike myself!). I mean, look at the way this post summarily expresses, in an exegetical way, a thing which I have been struggling to articulate for some time now.

“I am the way (hodos) and the truth, and the life.” (John 14:6).Hod-os’

Noun, Feminine

Definition

properly
1. a travelled way, road
2. a travellers way, journey, travelling

metaph.
1. a course of conduct
2. a way (i.e. manner) of thinking, feeling, deciding

King James Word Usage – Total: 102

* way 83
* way side 8
* journey 6
* highway 3
* miscellaneous 2

I don’t see anything in “hodos” that resembles “just believe in Jesus as your personal savior and get saved.” I see a path, a journey, travelling … I see actions.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kay permalink
    May 22, 2007 6:04 pm

    Strong’s concordance online is da bomb. Hehe. Sorry, I’m feeling rather silly today.

Leave a Reply

