Skip to content

The Day of Blog Silence and Vacation is over, and J. is BACK…

May 1, 2007

And my dear, dear boss came back to work yesterday.

To say I’m ecstatic is an understatement. I told her the only person happier than me that she’s back to work is HER.

We laughed.

While on vacation, I didn’t read nearly as much as I wanted. Hardly at all actually – WAAH.

I did, however, play MSN Jigsaw puzzle quite often and discovered the game Zuma. Bad, bad, computer puzzle games!

Took the kids to Chuck E. Cheese, did some light cleaning, had a few glasses of red wine, and actually had a real conversation with my husband about this religion thing.

He feels it takes my attention away from him and the kids. He’s right, to an extent. He feels it’s just something else to distract me and keep me avoiding being at home, which I suppose is true on some level. Definitely something for me to chew on a bit.

He was willing to hear me though, and I was willing to hear him. We didn’t come to any agreements, but, it was at least a better start than I’ve been able to get so far.

I’m back on the Weight Watcher wagon with serious vigor. I’m doing Core, so far, so good. I just need to work the exercise back in. I figure I’ll get there at some point.

Also, gained a new family member over vacation. On Saturday, we adopted the cutest little calico kitten named Leila. She’s a little slip of a thing – only 4 lbs, and very affectionate and sweet natured. I’ll try to post a picture of her soon.

At first, my dear Rusty was scared of her (and I told him he was a very wussy pussy!), and spent her first day home hiding under the love seat, making an awful growling noise each time he caught site of her. But, that seems to have passed, and now they are sniffing one another and even playing chase a bit. Much animal progress in only three days.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Share Cropper permalink
    May 1, 2007 12:13 pm

    Ohhh. Have you tried Jigzone? Great puzzles, but the patterns repeat – still I’m doing 184 crazy like crazy. This is free. Are MSN puzzles free?

    I tried Zuma, but I never could get past Level 3-4. I get very nervous with timed things.

    As for religion and your husband, any new interest would take you away from him an the kids more. Thinking hard about why you’re doing something is a great activity for all that spare time you have. LOL

    Good luck.

  2. Eileen permalink
    May 1, 2007 2:34 pm

    Great..I couldn’t get past level 2-2 on Zuma – so I’m basically a Zuma dunce after all that practice! And yes, the Jigsaw is free on MSN too.

    I know what you mean about the time away from him and kiddies thing. This is why there is no resolution. I have this passion. He doesn’t. He doesn’t understand it, but, he understands it’s important to me. He just doesn’t understand where or how he fits in, and when he’ll be able to follow his passions. With two young kids, we are basically always fighting for time. That’s life.

    And right, in all my spare time, I’ll contemplate how to balance all my shit, without losing any of it. lol

  3. May 1, 2007 3:38 pm

    Eileen, if it’s any consolation my husband doesn’t know the first thing about my spiritual meanderings. He’s an Italian guy, raised Roman Catholic and would be very happy to never set foot in a church again.

    And I have no clue what I’m going to do with my kid, religion-wise.

    Yeah. Spare time. LOL!

    Love, Spong-Bob

  4. David permalink
    May 1, 2007 5:07 pm

    Heh. Spong-Bob 🙂

    (as a parent of young children, I watch way too much Nickelodeon, Cartoon Network, etc…, and as one of those awful “progressive Christians,” I’m quite fond of the retired Bishop of NJ)

  5. Grandmère Mimi permalink
    May 1, 2007 7:24 pm

    Eileen, I’m pleased you and your husband had your talk.

    I’m happy, along with you and J, that she’s back at work.

    You and Rusty take care of Leila, although it sounds as though she can take care of herself.

  6. Wormwood's Doxy permalink
    May 2, 2007 3:09 pm

    Eileen!!! I’m slow on the uptake (too much work and family stuff this week), but welcome back!

    You MUST read Nora Gallagher’s Practicing Resurrection. I’ve been recommending it all over the place, but it’s partly about her call to the priesthood and dealing with her husband’s negative attitude about it. Excellent.

    And that’s wonderful about J.’s return to work. Hooray!

Leave a Reply

