Skip to content

Interesting Link from the Comment Boxes, sent by Dennis

April 26, 2007

Non-Theistic Christian Liturgy Resources

This is a good site for us Spong/Borg/Crossan kinda Christians.

Thanks for Sharing, Dennis!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Dennis permalink
    April 27, 2007 12:15 am

    thought you’d be interested.

  2. Pisco Sours permalink
    April 27, 2007 2:25 pm

    Interesting link, Eileen. I’m definitely quite theistic myself, although Spong and Borg have a warm place in my heart and I’m trying to figure out where the theistic and the nontheistic meet, if that makes sense.

    I’m still fascinated by King’s Chapel‘s own version of the Book of Common Prayer, with its own form of the Eucharist! I have no idea about the Unitarian theology of the Eucharist, but that’s just what makes it all so terribly fun and complex and wondrous for me.

  3. Dennis permalink
    April 28, 2007 2:03 am

    I use my copy of the kings chapel prayer book for evening prayer a lot. I have a copy of the Thos Jefferson’s edited version of the gospels to go with it.

    David and the dogs and I should move to Boston so I could go to kings chapel on sundays.

  4. Pisco Sours permalink
    April 28, 2007 8:48 am

    Dennis, where did you get your copies of those? I’d love to add that to my prayer book collection!

  5. Dennis permalink
    April 30, 2007 12:54 pm

    I used to collect prayer books but decided to pass them on a few years ago so I broke up the collection to various priests I know. I was surprised what they fought over: the church of south India’s first prayer book nearly inspired a fight, as did the New Zealand PB, whereas the copy of Bishop Whites proposed PB wound up going to a friend who collects antique books because the clergy types weren’t interested. (It was the most collectible but none of the clergy wanted it.)
    All I kept from what was a large collection was the Kings Chapel PB, an old Huguenot prayer book (in English), the CofE 1662, and a Church of Ireland PB and the Scots PB I was confirmed from.

    The Kings Chapel prayer book can be had from Kings Chapel. Google them. You may be able to buy it from them online. I ordered mine by mail in the late 80s before there was a world online. Since then I’ve been to a few services there. I think there is a gift shop.

    The Jefferson Gospels can be found on Amazon. Look for the version with introductory essays by Forrest Church and Jaroslav Pelikan.

Leave a Reply

