Skip to content

I’m on VACATION!!!!

April 23, 2007

I’m not going anywhere, really, but, I’m not going to work! Which is cool.

Kids have this week off as Spring Break.

So I’m taking off with them.

I’ll probably be blogging sporadically, depending on when they will allow me to, or I feel I can “get away with it”.

I’m planning to, um, well….READ, READ, READ, READ.

Tee hee hee hee….I’m giddy, positively giddy.

Ok, and, I’m also assessing my weight loss maintenance status, and I am finding it highly lacking. (I lost about 60 lbs four years ago – maintained it pretty well for about two years. Then I had to finish my thesis, which cut into my exercise time – all that journal article reading. Then I hurt my hip – and was slowed down a bit. Then, my boss got sick, I was stressed, and eating. Then, I found God, and I’ve been reading incessantly, and the Bible, EfM materials and other things – not to mention, blogging. This has all equalled up to me gaining back almost 30 of the 60lbs I lost. This is not acceptable.) SOOOO…I’ll be using this vacation to get back on track with Weight Watchers healthy eating choices and exercise. It really does work for me, and, I feel better when I eat better and exercise.

(Although, sometimes I secretly feel that being chubby is more “fun” – it certainly feels more fun when I’m doing it, although, the aftermath is not so fun. Not so fun at all!)

It’s a taste of summer here today – quite warm, sunny and absolutely lovely. We are grabbing a bite of lunch now, and, will hopefully head back outside once we are done. With my books of course. I’m reading two book club books The Faith Club, which I am enjoying more than I thought I would, and Colossians Remixed, which is an Emerging Women bookclub book for April. I’m dreadfully behind, since I should already have had it read, BUT, I’m enjoying it immensely.

Ta ta for now. We’ll see how long I can stay away.

I’ve seen several things in blogland which have tickled me which I want to share, before I forget where they are, or why I thought they were funny.

Blessings.

ALSO….WHERE IS LUIZ?????? I need a report on who looks gay!

24 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2007 2:32 pm

    Luiz looks gay.

    I do what I can. Have a good week off!

  2. Kirstin permalink
    April 23, 2007 2:55 pm

    Have a great vacation!

    Finding God does all kinds of weird things, LOL.

  3. Padre Mickey permalink
    April 23, 2007 3:57 pm

    Yeah, I’ve been wondering where Luiz is, too.
    Have a nice vacation.
    Mona and I are talking about a couple of weeks in July. I’m supposed to get a month a year but it’s almost impossible to get away that long.

  4. Jane R permalink
    April 23, 2007 4:44 pm

    Have a GREAT time, Eileen.

    Luiz is probably off being both holy and sexy :-).

    Thanks for the update. Hope your time is physically, mentally, spiritually healthy — and fun.

  5. PseudoPiskie permalink
    April 23, 2007 6:05 pm

    I’m on permanent vacation. Many are irritated/jealous, etc. But I put my time in all those years and still wake up at 5 and 6. Enjoy being family while you are off.

    And good luck with the weight! I need exercise – something to counteract the recliner and the iBook. I’d love to do weights but Curves is all there locally and it requires a 10 mile drive.

  6. Grandmère Mimi permalink
    April 23, 2007 7:25 pm

    Eileen, you and the kids have a great week. See you when you get back.

  7. Julie+ permalink
    April 23, 2007 8:48 pm

    Ah, Eileen, I’ll go you one better — I’m taking the week off and my kids are in school. 🙂

    I, too, will be reading, including Anne Lamott’s newest, “Grace (Eventually)” and “The Anglican Vision” by James E. Griffiss (part of the Church Teaching Series). And some lighter stuff, too. I can’t be serious all the time!

    Enjoy your time off, and I wish you much luck with the fitness stuff. Keep us posted on your progress!

  8. Dennis permalink
    April 23, 2007 9:46 pm

    have a great time off!

  9. MadPriest permalink
    April 24, 2007 6:22 am

    OI!
    Pack up a week’s worth of sandwiches for the kids. Tell them to go and discover the big, wide world. Kick them out the door and do some serious blogging.
    Your people need you – your kids can take care of themselves. Anyway, can’t they just go to work with their dad?

  10. Luiz Coelho permalink
    April 24, 2007 9:15 am

    I’m here, I’m here!

    I’m coming back folks… It’s just that the last days were veeeery full.

    PS.: Do I look gay? Oh Gawd!

  11. Anonymous permalink
    April 24, 2007 10:16 am

    Eileen,

    Have a great and restful vacation!!

    I’m be off the net for sometime, too, bloggers break.

    Take care, and God bless!

    Grace.

  12. Dennis permalink
    April 24, 2007 12:47 pm

    she goes on vacation and then there she is over at MadPriests today.

    we all say things like “OK, today, NO internet.” and then we say, oh, I’ll check my email and thats it. and then we see that we have posts on our blog. so we have to go to MP and see whats going on. and then we are trapped. promise out the window. been there. done that.

    it is called the “world wide web” because we get stuck to it like a spider web.

  13. Eileen permalink
    April 24, 2007 2:51 pm

    LOL @ Dennis – you know me too well! That’s about the size of it.

  14. Eileen permalink
    April 24, 2007 2:52 pm

    Oh and (((((Luiz))))) – glad to see you, and just wanted to make sure you are still out there in the ether.

  15. Wormwood's Doxy permalink
    April 24, 2007 8:20 pm

    Hi Eileen–I deleted my last comment because I thought better of putting a link in there.

    Hope you have a great vacation!

  16. Magdalene6127 permalink
    April 24, 2007 10:46 pm

    Blessings as you seek ways to be healthier… I can relate, and, o, I do.

    Mags

  17. Connie+ permalink
    April 24, 2007 11:56 pm

    Hi there, just surfed over from Emerging women to see who else is out there.

    INFP’s rule so enjoy your INFP vacation.

  18. Dennis permalink
    April 25, 2007 12:40 am

    found something you might be interested in (you might have already seen this before, though)

    Non-Theistic Christian Liturgy Resources
    http://www.ualberta.ca/ST.STEPHENS/NTLR/

  19. Eileen permalink
    April 25, 2007 9:43 am

    Dennis – Cool! Thanks! I had not seen it before, I shall add to my list of useful places. Lots to explore there.

    Connie+ – Welcome. Glad you wandered over from EmWo (this seems a better abbreviation for Emerging Women then EW!). Fellow INFP’s are always welcomed here! I went over to your website, and it looks like you have your hands full setting up house in Salt Lake City. Kudos to you!

    Mags – Thanks. I could use some bucking up in that area. I know exactly what to do, I just need to engage in doing it. Doing better with it so far this week.

    Doxy – No problem. And so far, so good on this vacation. It’s been relaxing.

  20. Pisco Sours permalink
    April 25, 2007 10:01 am

    *sigh* I wish I looked gay. But yeah, I need to get back into diet-and-exercise mode too. *grumble*

    Good luck to you, my dear!!!

  21. Grandmère Mimi permalink
    April 25, 2007 12:23 pm

    Eileen, will you have the time during your vacation to cast another vote for me for the Best Religion Blog. Brother Causticus at Titusoneten has issued a personal appeal to me to cast a vote for him, not for the sake of his earthly glory, but because the “African Anglicans who spend their days waiting for the latest pensées of Sara Hey may – as their American cohorts so often threaten they will – push sectarian sites to the forefront of the polling.”

    If you do not have time, Brother Causticus and I will understand.

  22. Eileen permalink
    April 25, 2007 12:30 pm

    Mimi – Anything for you my dear.

    My vote for the good BC is cast.

  23. Grandmère Mimi permalink
    April 25, 2007 1:01 pm

    Eileen, BC and I thank you from the bottom of our hearts. I will report back to him that the deed is done.

  24. Jane R permalink
    April 27, 2007 5:35 pm

    Grand-mère, Brother Causticus is a treasure.

    And Dennis, I agree with you about the WWWeb… Oy…

    I am taking three or four days off the week after next and I have found out that the B&B where I will be in the mountains has no cell phone connection and no internet (though there is a good land line and my family can reach me in case of emergency) — just as well eh? Though I may take the computer so I can write, as in “just write” with no purpose or deadline. But I’m also bringing a nice paper notebook. 🙂

    Pisco Sours honey, you look perfectly gay to me. But let our Luiz be the judge. (Luiz, glad to have you back.)

    Why have I spent so much of my life surrounded by INFPs?! (I have a lot of shrink and minister and spiritual director friends and colleagues, that’s probably why.)

    Jane the ESFJ (who is actually very close to the line on the E/I spectrum and has worked very hard in a gazillion years of ministry et al. to develop the P side of the J/P spectrum… not that it’s easy…)

Leave a Reply

