Skip to content

This is my kind of Mom…

April 20, 2007

Hat tip to Fr. Jake.

This mom got very creative on her 14 year old son when he began to torture her about his “need” for condoms.

See how she got even: Filed Under Parents 1, Smartass Teenager, 0

I laughed my ASS off!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Wormwood's Doxy permalink
    April 20, 2007 7:08 pm

    Okay—I admit that this person’s post really pissed me off.

    She teaches him a lesson about condoms by embarrassing and humiliating him. So when he REALLY needs them, will he come to her? Hell, no!

    And WHY does she “teach him a lesson”? Because she doesn’t like him embarrassing HER by teasing about condoms! How very grown-up of her…

    If she had talked to him about condoms when he was 10, it’s very unlikely that he would have been using them to push her buttons. And even if he did, the best response is to laugh along with him.

    So she scored some points off her kid. Congratulations. I just hope he’ll never have to come to her to tell her he got his girlfriend pregnant or that he’s HIV positive…

  2. Eileen permalink
    April 20, 2007 8:34 pm

    I see your point.

    So, perhaps I find it funny because it’s like a revenge fantasy. Something I’d think of doing, but never do.

    Or, maybe I found it funny because, I’m a small, mean person on the inside.

    Or some combination thereof, perhaps.

    Aah, not everything is for everyone, I guess. C’est la vie.

  3. Mike permalink
    April 20, 2007 8:55 pm

    I’ll keep my Irish-Catholic-doesn’t-want-proof-her-kids-ever-have-sex mother thankyouverymuch.

  4. Wormwood's Doxy permalink
    April 20, 2007 11:29 pm

    I apologize, Eileen–I knew better than to leave a negative comment on HER site, but I should have linked the story on my own blog and ranted rather than blow steam at you. Mea culpa.

    It was funny, in one sense—but I am terribly earnest when it comes to sex ed. I work with The Numbers every day–the HIV/AIDS epidemic isn’t over by a long shot. Every year 40,000 Americans become newly infected with HIV—and we have not been able to lower that number for 15 years now. Given the steep rise in new STDs in the last couple of years, the numbers are very likely climbing again.

    And it’s because changing sexual behaviors is incredibly difficult. And that is difficult because people are embarrassed to talk about those behaviors.

    So I apologize again. I’m just tired of seeing those numbers…

  5. Eileen permalink
    April 21, 2007 7:12 am

    Steam blowing here is fine.

    I hadn’t looked at her post from that angle – so you gave me something to think about.

    That’s what rants are for.

    Comedy is always a fine line…a fine line between what is funny, and what is just downright mean, or idiotic.

    I deal with eye-rolling, sexually condescending post-adolescents everyday – those who believe they own the market on “what’s cool”.

    This just struck me as a wonderful dose of their own medicine, rather than as a conversation stunter.

    But, I can see from your post that it truly could be a conversation stunter.

    With an older teen, not so much (18-19), but with a younger teen, definitely.

    So, apology not needed dear friend.

    As I’ve stated, you can always argue with me. I like a good argument – as long as you don’t try to CONVERT me. 😉

Leave a Reply

