Skip to content

Books, Books, Books

April 20, 2007


Well, Rev. Ruth went and did it. Her book recommendation in the post below (The Doubting Thomas one), led me to purchase a bunch of books.

What I have on order/will be receiving:

The Other Side of You (Thanks for the recommendation, Rev. Ruth!)
The God We Never Knew: Beyond Dogmatic Religion to a More Authenticc Contemporary Faith, Marcus Borg
The Bible: Faith’s Family Album I forget who the author is on this one.
Jesus Marcus Borg
Reading the Bible Again for the First Time Marcus Borg
Sex God: Exploring the Endless Connections Between Sexuality and Spirituality by Rob Bell (Emerging Women Bookclub Book)
Coming of God: Christian Eschatology by Jurgen Moltmann
The Rapture Exposed: The Message of Hope in the Book of Revelation by Barbara Rossing
Colossians Remixed: Subverting the Empire by Brian J. Walsh

This is being added to an already large pile of books which I wish I had already read.

Why, oh why, can’t I make a living by just sitting on my fat arse reading? I’d be sooo good at it!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. MoCat permalink
    April 20, 2007 12:29 pm

    To keep up on your reading I suggest that you pile 3 books under your pillow every night so as to absorb the contents via osmosis while you sleep.
    I tried it and although I can’t remember a single word I wake up each morning with a splitting headache so it must be working. 😉

    Seriously, what are we book junkies to do? Too many books, too little time…

  2. the Reverend boy permalink
    April 20, 2007 12:39 pm

    I have WAYYY too many books myself.

    The Rossing book on the Rapture (or lack thereof 😉 )is very good and a pretty easy read.

  3. Eileen permalink
    April 20, 2007 1:28 pm

    I heard Rossing give a lecture on that topic through Trinity Institute, and she is a wonderful speaker.

  4. Wormwood's Doxy permalink
    April 20, 2007 2:42 pm

    Damn you, Eileen! You would have to post that list in Tax Week, when I have no money, wouldn’t you?

    Of course, I’ve got about 3,000 other books waiting on the shelves, so maybe I should start with what I have…

  5. Anonymous permalink
    April 20, 2007 2:55 pm

    I know Eileen. One of my favorite activities is spending my off afternoons at Borders with a frozen mocha reading. Of course, this doesn’t do anything for my weight and fitness goals at all. (LOL)

    How is WW coming? I’m doing pretty well still with exercise, but not as great with the diet part. 😦

    Grace.

  6. Eileen permalink
    April 20, 2007 3:13 pm

    I’m in the same boat, Doxy! Books, books, books, surrounded with books.

    But I can’t help it!!!! It’s a sickness.

    Grace – I’ve fallen down on both diet AND exercise. I think it’s all the BOOKS! (Oh, and BLOGGING!)

  7. Anonymous permalink
    April 20, 2007 6:39 pm

    Well, Eileen, this blogging doesn’t help either. That’s for sure!! But, we can always get a fresh start Mon. (LOL)

    Grace.

  8. Rev Ruth permalink
    April 21, 2007 3:58 am

    You will love the Salley Vickers one, I’m sure, and thank you for taking my recommendation. In fact, all of her books are good – great religious themes.

    I’ve been on holiday this week and have had the most glorious time catching up on reading. I had an eye operation a few months ago and hadn’t been able to read for months before that, and then once I was given the miracle of sight once more I was too busy with Lent and Easter and all that jazz. So it has been the most treasured week sitting curled up with a pile of books. Only sad it has come to an end but determined that I will diary myself a reading day every now and then.

    Heard a good quote this week – ‘Being a priest is great – I get to read books and call it work.’

Leave a Reply

