Skip to content

‘Nother new place that I found through Catherine+

April 17, 2007

Emerging Women – place to converse about the emerging church, with men and women. They have BOOK DISCUSSIONS on GOD BOOKS…

I think I might pass out.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Dennis permalink
    April 17, 2007 6:28 pm

    to paraphrase Mr. Humphries from Are You Being Served

    Glass of water for Eileen!

  2. Catherine + permalink
    April 17, 2007 6:44 pm

    I’ll fan her and raise her feet whilst she is passed out. Dennis, water, great idea.

    I was astounded to find that their discussion groups did talk about God books, and I was drooling as I read…sorry for the mess.

  3. Jane R permalink
    April 20, 2007 1:14 am

    Yes, but it’s kind of sad, or odd, that they are just discovering some basic feminist realities we began talking about and spreading around (and publishing and praying and raising a ruckus about et al.) in the 1970s.

    I know folks have to rediscover certain realities in every generation, but you’d think something would have stuck so that these young women wouldn’t be obliged to reinvent the wheel (and yes I know many are from evangelical backgrounds, but the Evangelical Women’s Caucus was around way back when and so were a gazillion publications and conferences and groups concerned with women in ministry, women in Christianity, the encounter between Christianity and feminism, women coming to voice, and so on), and it makes me feel a) old and b) a little discouraged. (That and the fact that after going through the whole inclusive-language conversation in the 1970s we have to go through it all over again THIRTY years later. It’s as if it had never happened. And by the way, awareness of inclusive God-language is much higher in my former church home, the [Roman] Catholic church, than in my new one, the Episcopal Church. It boggles the mind. But I digress… and I rant… and I had better calm down and retire for the night, wishing you all blessings and peace.)

    Of course, I agree that God-book discussions on the Web (and elsewhere) are good. But they’re not new, either. Oh geez, I am sounding jaded. Sorry. Tired at the end of a heavy semester.

    Hi Eileen :-). (And Dennis and Catherine.) Hope you’re doing well…

  4. Eileen permalink
    April 20, 2007 10:41 am

    I know what you mean, Jane.

    The more things change, the more they stay the same.

    Religious change is VEEEERRRRYYY SLLLOOOOOWWWWW.

    And some of these groups are just getting into the conversation.

    It’s not so much that this venture is “new” as much as the spot is “new” to me, and talking about things that I like to talk about.

    It’s ok to feel jaded and tired when you’ve put effort into a thing, and it has “moved” as much as you’d hoped.

    I totally get that.

Leave a Reply

