Skip to content

Julie+’s Six Weird Things…TAKE NOTE TAGEES!

April 13, 2007

Oh, good! Here are my weird things:

1. I have parking karma. When I go somewhere, parking spaces miraculously come open for me.

2. I like to wear ear cuffs — which, when I’m in clericals, get interesting double takes.

3. When it comes to the TV remote, I’m a total guy. Click, click, click, click…drives my husband crazy.

4. I hate shopping, especially clothes shopping, which is why some of my clothes are older than some of my co-workers.

5. I am so claustrophobic, I had to use meditation techniques to be able to wear my sparring headgear when I took martial arts.

6. I seem to have a special sensor to find 4-leaf clovers. I’ve found hundreds of them over my life, most without really trying.

I tag EpiscoSours, Mimi, Clumber, Richard (Caught by the Light), Jim (Daily Episcopalian), and Mark (Preludium). (For the latter few, let’s see if the serious bloggers are willing to take a weirdness break!)

KJ – I’m WAAAAAAAAAAIIIIITTTTTTTTIIIIINNNGGG

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Grandmère Mimi permalink
    April 13, 2007 11:49 am

    Eileen, you know I will never forgive you.

  2. Julie+ permalink
    April 13, 2007 1:11 pm

    Um…actually, I was the one who tagged you, Mimi. Eileen is blameless on this one. Mea culpa! I couldn’t resist. I had to find out what you considered weird. So??? 🙂

  3. Pisco Sours permalink
    April 13, 2007 1:30 pm

    It’s up! It’s up!

  4. toujoursdan permalink
    April 13, 2007 2:22 pm

    Please give me some of your parking karma. I have none at all and as a Christian, it is your duty to share it with me 🙂

  5. Julie+ permalink
    April 13, 2007 3:07 pm

    I wish I could share! But it only works if I’m in the car — I don’t have to be driving, but I do have to be present.

    (My son’s response when we went to the packed mall a few days before Christmas and someone pulled out of a space next to the entrance just as I drove up: “Okay, that’s just weird, Mom.”)

  6. Grandmère Mimi permalink
    April 13, 2007 3:08 pm

    Eileen, my humblest apology to you. I should read more closely.

  7. Eileen permalink
    April 13, 2007 4:13 pm

    Good parking spot karma is some serious mojo to have, Julie!

    We’re all jealous of that one!

    Mimi – it’s ok, there’s probably something else I’ve done that you’ll never forgive me for, OR I might do in the future, so, now you’re covered.

  8. April 13, 2007 5:55 pm

    Six weird things about me? Oy, I’m glad there was no pressure to respond!

    There is NOTHING weird about me; it’s everybody else that’s just a bit “off”. Since I don’t have a blog, I’ll post this riveting information here.

    1. I keep hand sanitizer in the car.

    2. When encountering wild or domestic animals, I greet them (“Good morning Brother Raccoon”, “Good morning Brother Coyote, we have an understanding, you and I.” “Good morning Sister Rabbit. Beware of Brother Coyote and Sister Owl. They are out this morning.”)

    3. I talk go my car (“Bug, thank you for waiting.”)

    4. Oh, I drive a VW Beetle.

    5. Even when I was an evangelical boy, I really enjoyed my friendships with heretics. I chuckled when I was once told by a church elder to “Be careful”. I suppose he was worried about the heat, not knowing I was the flamer.

    6. I love it when my students tell me I’m a little weird. I tell them, “I sure hope so!”

  9. Padre Mickey permalink
    April 13, 2007 7:58 pm

    Actualmente, good parking kharma is easy to attain when one says this simple prayer:
    Hail Mary, Full of Grace,
    Help Me Find A Parking Place.

    I learned this prayer from George Emblom, Director of Music at St. Mark’s, Berkeley, and Professor of Music at CDSP.

    It works, even in a Spanish-speaking country.

  10. clumber permalink
    April 13, 2007 9:21 pm

    You tagged a dog? How weird is that?

    I’ll see what I can do tomorrow, but I’m not sure there’s 6 weird things here – perhaps if I ask Mrs. Clumber she can find some…

    clumber

  11. clumber permalink
    April 14, 2007 12:36 pm

    Okay, Eileen,

    I’m tired of chasing my tail, time for another nap.

    clumber

  12. Grandmère Mimi permalink
    April 14, 2007 12:49 pm

    Julie, I’d take just a little of your parking kharma to enable me to parallel park when I do find a space.

    Padre Mickey, I will definitely try the prayer.

Leave a Reply

