Skip to content

My crazy Saturday

April 7, 2007

Well, the day started off with preparations for a birthday party and ended up with a trip with a sick Jenna to the E.R.: Talk about a load of excitement in one day.

I got up this morning to do my Saturday morning online morning prayer with my EfM group, and my daughter got up complaining about her throat. She didn’t feel warm, so I gave her some water and some pain killer and sent her off to bed. She got up, ate breakfast, and said she was fine – she had a house full of friends expected to help her celebrate her birthday after lunch, so she was on top of the world.

My mom came to help me set up goodie bags, and such, and my brother stopped over with his new baby. Toward the end of my brother’s visit, Jenna started to get visibly irritable, and she started whining and crying about nothing. She also had refused to each lunch. A quick feel of her head told me she was running a fever, and we had about 45 minutes until party guests were to start arriving – not enough time to call it off, and I didn’t have phone numbers for most of the guests, so, we decided to muscle on. I began to worry about strep, and noted that my doctor’s office was now closed.

Her friends came, we had cake and cookies, played Simon says, “It”, and Freeze and Pose, and Jenna was sort of wishy washy and whiny throughout. At the end of the party, she was looking crappy and feeling quite hot, and she started to really complain about her throat and started spitting out her spit. Then she asked to go to bed..in her bed. So, I poured her out some water, and called my pediatrician – who was not on call – some other associate was. It took two and 1/2 hours and two phone calls to get the associate to call me back. She sends us off to the E.R. Oh YAY.

So, we head off to the E.R., where we were seen mercifully quickly, had a flu and strep test (Jenna, who’s never had the flu wanted to know what would happen to her if it turned out the she had “fleas” or the “flem” or whatever it was called), both of which were negative, and so, we were given a pat on the head and sent home.

With all the party excitement, we had yet to color our Easter Eggs (thank goodness I had the time to boil them yesterday).

Needless to say, I didn’t make it to the Easter Vigil Service tonight (although I did make it to both the Maundy Thursday and Good Friday services – and enjoyed both. Jenna was particularly taken with the Maundy Thursday service: the stripping of the alter, and the sadness of the taize chanting really hit home with her – and she was sad about Jesus being given up to death by his people. She asked me, “Mom – Why didn’t Jesus say “Why God? Why?” The six year old version of “My God, my god, why have you foresaken me?”). My son will ring bells tomorrow morning, although, I’m not betting on Jenna making it, and I will be on the altar as Crucifer/Second Server.

I’ve just finished putting together Easter baskets, and putting sweets in the plastic eggs we’ll hide in the yard. Looking forward to getting into bed.

And wishing all of you a blessed, and joyous Easter.

Christ is risen. Alleluia!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Dennis permalink
    April 8, 2007 2:45 am

    Hoping that your daughter feels better and that you and your family have a great Easter.

  2. Kirstin permalink
    April 8, 2007 2:47 am

    The Lord is risen indeed! Alleluia!

    Sorry about your sick kid. I hope Jenna feels better soon.

  3. PseudoPiskie permalink
    April 8, 2007 7:48 am

    He is risen, indeed! Alleluia!

    And may Jenna recover quickly!

  4. April 8, 2007 11:42 am

    He is risen, ideed! Alleluia!

    Get well, Jenna!

  5. Catherine + permalink
    April 8, 2007 1:05 pm

    Indeed, He is risen, for us all. Alleluia! Alleluia! Eileen and family, may you be blessed with a joyous and sickness free day today and always! Bless you, my sister.

  6. Grandmère Mimi permalink
    April 8, 2007 2:33 pm

    Eileen, nothing like a pre-Easter trip to the ER to start the weekend right. And there I was whining (or is that whingeing?) about a crawfish boil.

    Mea culpa.
    Mea culpa.
    Mea maxima culpa.

    Lesson: there’s always someone worse off.

    Anyway, have a blessed and happy Easter.

  7. Pisco Sours permalink
    April 9, 2007 6:32 am

    Hope Jenna recovers quickly! Is she any better now?

  8. Eileen permalink
    April 9, 2007 9:07 am

    Jenna finally seems to be on the up swing. She had an awful night last night – very high fever and general miserableness, but, she slept through most of the night, and her fever is down this morning.

    Sad to say, she didn’t’ have a very Happy Easter…and lack of sleep made me a dreary dinner companion at Easter Dinner. I couldn’t even stay awake to help my son study his spelling words.

    Thanks for your kind thoughts for Jenna, all.

  9. Kirstin permalink
    April 9, 2007 4:27 pm

    Glad she’s better!

    Poor kid, and poor you.

Leave a Reply

