Skip to content

J. update

March 27, 2007

I saw J. yesterday with my own eyes – she stopped in to our office.

She looks thin, but, otherwise, she looks like J., sounds like J., is still fiesty, and using all her negotiation techniques to try to come back to work. She’s a formidable negotiator, so I pity her doctors.

I’m praying she doesn’t rush things for her own safety.

But, you can’t tell her a thing. She’s got her own mind, and uses it to great effect.

For those of you who have been praying for her, thank you, from both J. and me.

She’s going to make the medical journals!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Grandmère Mimi permalink
    March 27, 2007 8:38 am

    Eileen, J. is on my prayer list. This is good news, indeed. Thanks be to God.

  2. Wormwood's Doxy permalink
    March 27, 2007 10:30 am

    Eileen–I’ve been meaning to ask you what the candle on your blog means. I’m sure it’s in your archive somewhere, but would you mind filling me in?

    In the meantime, J. is in my prayers–as are you.

    Pax,
    Doxy

  3. Eileen permalink
    March 27, 2007 11:49 am

    Doxy – J. is my boss – She’s a 60+ dynamo who was unthinkably diagnosed with Acute Lymphocytic Leukemia back in July (and I’ve been slipping my little feet into her shoes, and man oh man are those shoes BIG). ALL is not something normally diagnosed in folks over 20ish (maybe 40 was the figure). Anyway, her treatment protocol was very experimental, and ultimately, they decided she would need a bone marrow transplant, which she had in January.

    When you have a bone marrow transplant, if you clear the first 100 days without succumbing to rejection or infection, chances for survival are very greatly increased.

    So, my candle is a candle of hope for J., and the days to life are the days she has left to reach 100 days, and hopefully, be able to return to some of her life as she knew it previously.

    I miss her greatly.

  4. Wormwood's Doxy permalink
    March 27, 2007 11:57 am

    Thanks, Eileen.

    I know of a young man named John who was recently diagnosed with that same illness. He is in his early 20s, and it has been a devastating experience for his family. He’s always been so healthy!

    He will have a bone marrow transplant soon. I hope he has the same good response that your J. does—and that she is back with you soon.

    You DO know what a blessing it is to love your boss, don’t you? I would walk over hot coals for mine…

  5. Catherine + permalink
    March 28, 2007 1:04 am

    Hi Eileen. I rejoice in J’s progress and it is quite obvious that as we have been lifting her up in prayer, God has indeed heard and acted. I love the candle. One can go to The Geranium Farm and go to Vigils and light a candle for whomever they wish and write something for it too. Also at the Mission of St Clare prayer site, one can also light a virtual candle there too. I hope WD rereads this so she can know more about the candle mystery. I light them often, at home an in cyberspace. The world needs more light.

    Blessings to you for being so faithful to J, Eileen. You are a treasure, my dear.

  6. Pisco Sours permalink
    March 28, 2007 7:40 am

    Thanks be to God that J. is going to be okay!

    And as a former bio major and pre-med student, if you ever find the medical journal she’s going to be in, you have to cite me chapter and verse!

Leave a Reply

