Skip to content

The Blasphemy Challenge and Fr. Matthew…

March 16, 2007

Here is the blasphemy challenge:
[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i7QVbJnSPQE”>

Here is Fr. Matthew’s reasoned/reasonable response…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Mystical Seeker permalink
    March 16, 2007 6:25 pm

    Father Matthew seems pretty cool. If only more Christian clergy were like that.

    That being said…I can’t help but wonder. If I believe in God, but I am not a Trinitarian, and if I therefore deny that there is any person in a Holy Trinity called “the Holy Spirit”, am I thus denying the Holy Spirit? I guess I don’t fit neatly into any neat category–not the intolerant atheists of the first video, but not most Christians either.

  2. Eileen permalink
    March 16, 2007 7:38 pm

    As you know, I’m normally a live and let live Christian, and so, i can cope with people questioning the Holy Spirit 😉 I think of the Trinity as a human attempt to contain God, and in many ways the imagery works for me, so I don’t fight it – at least not anymore.

    To me, the Holy Spirit is the God thing in each of us – the way we feel God acting in our lives. I see it in everything, because I’m a panentheist, so, it isn’t hard for me to think of this God in everything and the Holy Spirit as capturing the same piece of the Divine Reality, at least for me.

  3. Frank Walton permalink
    March 17, 2007 1:43 am

    If you’re at all interested I have a blogsite against the blasphemy challenge here.

  4. Dennis permalink
    March 17, 2007 2:02 pm

    Frank, I saw your website. That is sad.

    As a Christian (quite progressive post-modern in my theology, admittedly) I have to say: setting up a blog against the blasphemy challenge is really lame.

    These people aren’t doing any harm to you by believing different things than you do. Even by promoting their beliefs.

    Go get a hobby.

    Better yet, take that free time and go do some volunteer work. Red Cross is always in need of volunteers, along with the cancer society, the heart and lung associations, or even the local soup kitchen.

    But the crusades are over. Setting up shop to fight those who disagree with us may give us a sense of personal meaning or something but it does nothing worthwhile whatsoever. Let it rest. For the sake of the church and the faith and your own peace of mind I’d suggest that you think about giving it up.

  5. Bill Carroll permalink
    March 18, 2007 10:32 pm

    When the Harvard Lampoon had a reception for Malcolm Forbes in honor of their Forbes parody issue, they had a list of events.

    Sometime shortly after “fear and loathing,” perhaps at 10:38 a.m. came the “blasphemy against the Holy Ghost for which there is no redemption.”

    If we’re seriously worried about committing this sin, we probably aren’t able to. I think the premise of the whole challenge is misguided. It’s not denying the power or existence of the Holy Spirit that does it. It’s attributing the work of Jesus, setting captives free, etc. etc., to demons, as is clear from the biblical context.

  6. Eileen permalink
    March 18, 2007 10:53 pm

    Dennis makes a good point, Frank. It’s in a similar vein to what Fr. Matthew has said: which is basically, I’d like to share my enthusiams, but, I get it, you don’t want to hear it.

    I obviously don’t agree with the Blasphemy challenge folks; but, I don’t want to hunt them down either, and chastise them.

    I’ve been agnostic and seriously contemplated atheism. I think Fr. Matthew’s approach is the right one.

    Let’s talk – let’s embrace our basic humanity, and the basic “goodness” of that humanity, and go from there.

Leave a Reply

