Skip to content

Can I just say…

March 14, 2007

I love my rector?! She’s awesome!

It was a great lunch, she was very supportive, and had great advice for me.

Bill – I took your advice, I was honest. I laid out my call, and my husband’s issues with my call. Mother Joan had good solid advice for me.

And this is all going to go slowly, which is a good thing.

Ann+ – I will be reading Leaving Church – I’m pretty sure my church library has it.

Mystical – Thanks also for the book suggestion. I take all of them seriously.

KJ – I’m sticking my tongue out at you! Just wait – if I ever get behind the pulpit, Martyn Minns bushy eye-brows will probably fall out!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Jack permalink
    March 14, 2007 4:14 pm

    Hey Eileen, You are considering a call to ministry? I also love Barbara Brown Taylor. Please go to Gracecathedral.org and do a search for barbara. She did a great forum at grace some time back and she also preached on that same sunday at grace. They have both audio archives of both.

    You might also go to npr.org and go to “Fresh Air” with Terri Gross. She did a very indepth interview with Barbara. You might also consider reading Ann Lamott she wrote some great books titled Traveling Mercies and Plan B Further Thoughts on Faith.

    These book and those interviews will change your life. I love Ann and Barbara.

  2. Wormwood's Doxy permalink
    March 14, 2007 4:49 pm

    if I ever get behind the pulpit, Martyn Minns bushy eye-brows will probably fall out!

    You say that like it’s a bad thing… 😉

  3. Bill permalink
    March 14, 2007 4:52 pm

    I’m really glad you had a good first meeting. Now just hurry up and slow down.

  4. Dennis permalink
    March 14, 2007 6:30 pm

    good to hear the news. very good.

  5. Kirstin permalink
    March 14, 2007 6:59 pm

    Wonderful! Blessings.

  6. MoCat permalink
    March 14, 2007 11:24 pm

    Yay! Don’t you feel so much better now? I posted some words of wisdom for you here.

  7. Ann permalink
    March 15, 2007 12:43 pm

    Bob Duncan – bishop of Pittsburgh wins the bushy eyebrow contest – not sure Minns has bushy ones.
    Pix here and here.

    re: Jack — ministry is the response of all the baptized – ordained ministry – just one category.

  8. Jack permalink
    March 15, 2007 3:51 pm

    Ann I think that is a given with respect to ministry. All laypersons are called to some sort of ministry. But when I read Eileen’s comment about “The Call” I knew she meant ordained ministry. I am sorry if I didnt use the correct terminology. I think Eileen knew what I meant.

  9. Eileen permalink
    March 15, 2007 4:36 pm

    Jack – Excellent! I shall check them out when I have time. Thank you!

    Ann+: You are right. I’m confusing +Minns and +Duncan.

    Although, the net effect for either of them would be the same if I ever become ordained. It’s bad enough I even exist and have to be called part of the Christian “flock”.

    Although, I’m sure neither of them would hesitate a moment to deny my communion.

  10. Ann permalink
    March 15, 2007 8:11 pm

    Jack – sorry to seem to jump on your comment. We work very hard to affirm all ministries in Wyoming – it is a knee jerk (probably emphasis on the latter word) reaction.

Leave a Reply

