Skip to content

From Mad Priest to me today…

March 6, 2007

Maddie sent me this pic, and told me, it reminded him of me. It is a picture of Lilith, and this is what Wikipedia has to say about Lilith:

Lilith
From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
This article is about the demon Lilith. For other uses, see Lilith (disambiguation).
Lilith (1892), by John Collier

Lilith is a female Mesopotamian night demon or vampire associated with wind and thought to harm children. The figure of Lilith first appeared in a class of wind and storm demons or spirits as Lilitu, in Babylonia, circe 3000 B.C.E. Many scholars place the origin of the phonetic name “Lilith” at somewhere around 700 B.C.E.[citation needed]

In the Book of Isaiah, Lilith (Hebrew: לִילִית) is a kind of night-demon or animal, translated as onokentauros in the Septuagint, as lamia “witch” by Hieronymus of Cardia, and as screech owl in the King James Version of the Bible. Lilith also appears as a night demon in the Talmud and Midrash. She is often identified as the mother of all incubi and succubi. Late medieval Jewish legend portrays her as the first wife of Adam, who left the Garden of Eden after a dispute with her husband, and subsequently became the mother of demons, the Lilin. Lilith is also sometimes considered to be the paramour of Satan.[citation needed]

Thoughts? Is this a general consensus of all, or just of the Mad One?

My son might agree, after our little row this morning! Aaaah – It’s so great to be alive some days!

UPDATE: MP tells me that Lilith is his vision of the original “independent woman” and so assures me that this is a compliment of the highest nature. I’m going to buy this, because, I luf MP.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Mystical Seeker permalink
    March 6, 2007 1:47 pm

    Mad Priest is mad, I tell you. Mad!

    But perhaps you should embrace your inner she-demon. 🙂

  2. Wormwood's Doxy permalink
    March 6, 2007 2:02 pm

    Eileen—honey, work it!!! Lilith rocks, and so do you.

    I’m hurt, however, that no one compares ME to that gorgeous creature in the painting…

    (Did I mention that I once taught an Adult Sunday School series on the devil? I used a lot of art and literature in that course and it was great fun!)

  3. Bill permalink
    March 6, 2007 5:21 pm

    Lilith is HOT. Here’s the real scoop. Adam told Lilith to shut up and get the housework done. Lilith threw an apple at Adams head and told him to stuff it. Everything else you read was made up by ancient Hebrew historians to explain why Adam was doing his own laundry. Of course, she was demonized. How else could they explain a woman not doing what she was told. Lilith, the first feminist.

  4. Chip Nelson permalink
    March 6, 2007 5:21 pm

    Looks to me like the Mother of Alexander the Great. She was seen with a snake which was an incarnation of Zeus prior to her conception of Alexander (this god/human conception should sound familiar).

    I would be interested in your thoughts after viewing the videos on http://www.RichardDawkins.net .

    Let me know if you need a non believer to chime in from time to time.

  5. Eileen permalink
    March 6, 2007 5:34 pm

    1) Doxy, darling, I thought that you were the model for this lovely painting. I only have her essence…as my son told me this morning, I don’t have that cute little hiney – mine’s big!

    2) Bill…I luf you. You can stay here as long as you like. Longer even then you might like!

    3)Mystical – My she-demon is in full force, or chi, as my husband and I like to joke – My she-demon chi is quite strong today. Tee hee hee.

    4) Chip – this is an inclusive neighborhood – this includes all people, unless you are a TROLL. A non-believing voice is certainly welcome. If you won’t loudly declaim my delusions, I will return the favor and not loudly declaim yours – although, we’ll proably argue, which can be a nice diversion. I’ll have to check out those videos, and report back. Welcome!

  6. Wormwood's Doxy permalink
    March 6, 2007 5:45 pm

    Eileen—tell me where to have the case of wine delivered after Lent… 😉

  7. Eileen permalink
    March 6, 2007 6:02 pm

    MMMMMMMm…red wine. I miss it.

    I could really go for a glass now!

  8. Grandmère Mimi permalink
    March 6, 2007 10:14 pm

    I thought there was a connection with Adam and there it is – his first wife, mother of demons.

    She a beauty all right, Eileen. Take it as a compliment.

    You know what? You’re beautiful too.

  9. Eileen permalink
    March 6, 2007 11:07 pm

    Awww, Mimi! I luf you too!

    I have the best blogger friends.

  10. Catherine + permalink
    March 6, 2007 11:36 pm

    Like I said earlier…hot, hot, hot!

  11. David permalink
    March 7, 2007 10:33 am

    Hooray for Eileen and her “she-demon chi” ! Gotta love those sassy women 😉

    Oh, and if I might get up on my soapbox for a moment RE: “my son told me this morning, I don’t have that cute little hiney…”

    It makes me absolutely crazy when the only ideal of feminine beauty is something like a painfully thin fashion model (not that this painting is nearly that extreme -she’s actually quite tasty).

    Dammit! Real, attractive women have curves and aren’t built like skinny, teenaged boys!

    OK, I’ve said my piece now 🙂

  12. Eileen permalink
    March 7, 2007 12:10 pm

    David – You are invited to stay as long as you want at this blog…even longer then you might want – I luf men like you.

    Actually, I think most men are mentally far healthier about this then women. Men (who are hets) like women – in all their shapes and sizes. Men (at least the ones I know) don’t obsess about the size of their butts.

    So, I luf you too.

    Catherine+ – He certainly did pick a hot one to send me, didn’t he? She’s lovely.

  13. Grandmère Mimi permalink
    March 7, 2007 5:43 pm

    When I was young and thin, a co-worker told me I looked like a Rubens painting. I did not take it as a compliment at the time

    I think he was coming on to me, and he would have said anything.

Leave a Reply

