Skip to content

The Life and times of the Episcopali-fem

March 1, 2007

Well…Mad Priest’s had a death in the family – good ole Mac has gone on to his reward, and MP is out in search of a new family member (Dang and Mac isn’t even cold yet! Sorta heartless, but necessary!)

Meanwhile, I’ve been busier than a worker bee in a burgeoning beehive! Let’s catch up from yesterday:

1) had a big event with our partner school on campus. This requires my direct attention, and it requires me to be away from my computer and office.

2) Had a meeting with my son’s school regarding his poor academic performance, and looking to get him help – his ADD is impacting his studies in a big way, and, I’m fearful he has an emergent learning disability rearing it’s ugly head – we shall see. Good news there is that the school will follow up test him for free, and he will be eligible for services one way or the other – accommodations, etc. Jake really needs this, so this was positive. However, the meeting forced me to be away from my office and computer – bad for blogging!

3) Husband was supposed to meet me at said meeting. I’m sitting in the parking lot waiting for him to get them when my cell phone rings – Evan’s car died. He’s a mechanic – when a mechanic tells you their car is dead, it’s dead. This is VERY bad news – remember how I told you we didn’t have 15k for my son to go to Sylvan Learning Center for extra educational help – well…I don’t have it for a car either, and I don’t have room in my budget for another membership in a (payment)book of the month club. But, I live in suburbia, and so, Evan MUST have a car to work. Our schedules are way too different to carpool together – never mind that we work in different towns in opposite directions. CRAPIQUE!!!!

4) I was supposed to work until 7pm, helping to over see and host the event and students with our partner school. Well..after leaving work (and my hostess duties) to go to my son’s school, I then had to leave my hostess duties again to go pick up my kids (which my husband usually does), bring them home, and come back to work.

5) When I get to my son’s after school program, I find out he sassed off to the director. He did something stupid (tossed a checker at another kid) in retaliation to having a checker tossed at him by said kid. The director sees him, not the other kid, and asks him to pick up the checkers. Jake tells her “No.” refuses. She asks him who is in charge, and he responds “Not you.” She writes him up. I’m furious. I don’t cotton to sassing off to those adults responsible for you, especially when they are correcting your behavior! Jake apparently claims he wasn’t speaking to the director, but to the kid who provoked him, who must have been smirking at my son. So, he gets in trouble for basically being a “dumb kid”.

6) I have a headache. And an ass ache.

Today:

1) I have a strong urge to blog, but, work is calling me. Many problems, so little time to solve them and blog. CRAPIQUE.

2) Went to Stations of the Cross and Noonday prayers at Church. I needed a healthy dose of God.

3) Car ride to a local high school to pick up tuition payments for a middle college course (high school course equivalent to college credit – isn’t this great, my blog is educational for the purpose of learning higher ed jargon!) – Sitting in the car, I’m listening to John Legend’s song, Ordinary People, and I burst into tears. I decide to listen to the song while driving and crying two more times. Somewhat cathartic.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. scott permalink
    March 1, 2007 4:02 pm

    [[[[[[HUGS!]]]]]]

    CRAPIQUE indeed! Hang in there, girlfriend. You’ve certainly got prayers going up to the head office from me!

  2. March 1, 2007 4:37 pm

    (((((((Eileen))))))))

    Prayers and peace of Christ. Perfect example of how life brings enough challenges without us all being “asshats” in insisting that all must see things just as we do.

    If travels bring you to the Seattle area, pack Jake and I’ll do a comprehensive language/learning assessment on the house. Teasing out what is ADHD, language/learning difficulty, and/or adolescence can be a real challenge.

  3. Padre Mickey permalink
    March 1, 2007 4:39 pm

    I’m sorry to hear you are having such a bad day. And I can relate to the “misbehaving child” stuff, too. There was a time, while I was in seminary, that I didn’t even want to answer the telephone in the afternoon as it was always a call from Holy Names High School about my eldest. It’s tough, but it gets better, believe me.

    I’m praying for you.

  4. Julie+ permalink
    March 1, 2007 4:47 pm

    Oh, sweetie, I’m sorry your week has been so shitty. Being a mom can really stink sometimes. (On the other hand…if you don’t toss your kids out the window, as Padre Mickey said, they really do improve with age — most of the time 🙂

    You have my cyber-hugs and very real prayers.

  5. Mary Sue permalink
    March 1, 2007 6:03 pm

    Ooooh it’s been a FUN week for everyone, hasn’t it?

    If’n you ever need any suggestions/manipulatives/someone to vent about how @#$#@%$# difficult it is to deal with ADD, let me know. I’ve got a pretty piece of paper that says I’m a licensed edjumacator and I’ve been living with ADD since before ADD was cool.

  6. David permalink
    March 1, 2007 9:37 pm

    Darn, woman – you’ve been busier than a one-legged man in an ass-kickin’ contest. Sorry to here ’bout the car & the kid, too.

    O God of peace, who hast taught us that in returning and rest we shall be saved, in quietness and confidence shall be our strength: By the might of thy Spirit lift us, we pray thee, to thy presence, where we may be still and know that thou art God; through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen. (BCP)

  7. Eileen permalink
    March 1, 2007 10:03 pm

    Mary Sue – I may just take you up on that offer! Thanks!

    ((David)) Thanks. I feel like a one-legged man at the END of an ass-kicking contest today! I appreciate that prayer greatly!

  8. Grandmère Mimi permalink
    March 1, 2007 10:44 pm

    Eileen, your son and his parents are on my prayer list.

    You really did have a bad day. I’ll pray that you find a way out of the car crisis, too. Many hugs.

Leave a Reply

