Skip to content

Hymn from Ship of Fools

February 22, 2007

Hat tip to Toujoursdan

The Church’s One Foundation

The Church’s one foundation
Is Jesus Christ! You’re wrong!
And poofters who are active
Can’t join our happy throng.
The women priests who celebrate
Will make the angels weep,
In love we must reject them;
No priestesses for the sheep.

The church’s one foundation
Is Jesus Christ! You’re wrong!
We’re building an extension
To house our happy throng
We’re bricking up the windows
Between our pad and yours
We don’t want groups of woofters
Watch us eat our Lord

The churches one foundation
Is Jesus Christ! You’re wrong!
We’ve seen you kissing posters
Of the evil ‘bishop’ Spong
Our Primate he hath spoken
With lace robes glistening
So talk to the hand, b***h
The face ain’t listening.

or alternatively:

The Church’s one foundation
Is Jesus Christ! You’re wrong!
And fundi evo bigots
Can’t sing our Gospel song.
They pick and choose the verses
They follow and believe –
The Holy Spirit’s left them;
We fear they’ve been deceived.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Catherine + permalink
    February 22, 2007 7:21 pm

    It was funny until I got to the b***h word. Sorry, I don’t use that word to describe any woman, and I am guessing that the reference is to ++Katharine?

  2. Eileen permalink
    February 22, 2007 10:38 pm

    Could be, although it’s not how I read it initially, but looking at it again, I suppose it does.

    If it is, it’s implying that’s what +Akinola and crew think of her, which is probably not far from the truth.

  3. Dennis permalink
    February 23, 2007 2:21 am

    I once heard a really really dirty version of “On Christ the Solid Rock I stand” – and it was a Baptist girl who told it to me – said she had learned it at Baptist summer camp. And no, I’m not sharing the words!

  4. Pisco Sours permalink
    February 23, 2007 9:48 am

    Dennis, not fair!

  5. Bill permalink
    February 23, 2007 9:50 am

    I know what its purpose is but I’m forced to critique it on a couple of levels. As satire it’s trying to evoke a positive from a negative and I guess that careful reading will do that. The problem is that I love poetry. I write poetry. And on that level I have issues. I enjoy poetry that flows. Poetry should have a rhythm, a natural cadence. At least the poetry that I like to read and re-read. This one leaves me struggling to find its pace. I find that when a poem is hard to read, the message can become lost. When the two work together, the message and the flow, you get so much more out of it.

  6. Eileen permalink
    February 23, 2007 10:29 am

    Bill – Here is the original cadence:

    The Church’s One Foundation

    And the original words:

    Lyrics

    I don’t mind the criticism, as I didn’t write it – I just thought it was funny.

  7. Bill permalink
    February 23, 2007 11:05 am

    Ok, that’s better. I knew you didn’t write it and I really felt bad about doing the critique, but, you know that I don’t have an unspoken thought.

    The original lyrics use rhyme and that works. The music also helps.
    I tend to be more into lyric prose and maybe that’s why rhyme is not my favorite mode.

  8. Eileen permalink
    February 23, 2007 11:37 am

    LOL@ Bill – never fear to leave a criticism. I’m a big girl, well, sort of..I’m grown up…well…sort of.

    Oh heck, you know what I mean!

    And I’m glad to know it “helped” because now I CANNOT get the tune of that dang hymn out of my HEAD!

  9. toujoursdan permalink
    February 23, 2007 3:26 pm

    I am glad someone found it funny (They have a macabre sense of humour over on SOF). I posted that, no one said anything and I thought I laid an egg.

  10. Eileen permalink
    February 23, 2007 3:29 pm

    Oops! I should have said I was stealing it from you! I have a black sense of humor – very dry and sarcastic. This was right up my alley.

    Although, in my head, I kept hearing the hymn to a monty-python-esque tune (at least before I went and downloaded the acutal hymn tune) I think it was the word “poofters” that did that for me!

  11. Catherine + permalink
    February 23, 2007 6:32 pm

    I think Bill is right. It is a bit hard to read. It’s just whenever I see that word or it’s “code” it tweaks me. Guess I shouldn’t be so darn sensitive. Thanks for the patience shown me here.

Leave a Reply

