Skip to content

From Pandagon: Bigotry, Thy Name is Fundamentalist

February 22, 2007

Hat tip to Pam’s House Blend.
Bigotry, thy name is fundmentalist.

Excellent rant on why the Christian Right needs a big-ass glass of shut-the-hell-up.
(I’m crabby today, can you tell?)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Grandmère Mimi permalink
    February 22, 2007 1:26 pm

    Eileen, you have a new blog look. I like it.

    The guy in the picture looks like Fred Phelps or one of his minions. We all get slimed by the likes of them.

    I had my bad day yesterday. Then I went to the Ash Wednesday service and came home renewed. We’ll make it through by the grace of God.

    Just so you’ll know, I still pray for J.

  2. Eileen permalink
    February 22, 2007 1:30 pm

    (((Mimi)))

    Thanks for the prayers for J. I should probably do an update for her – she’s doing pretty well right now. I really appreciate it!

    Glad you like the new look. I just wanted something a little different.

    I’m always renewed at my church, and last night was no excpetion. The children’s service for Ashes was wonderful. I love it there.

    My heart just breaks for the people in TEC who thought we were on the verge of finally taking a stand and affirming their human condition, and how let down they feel. I’m frustrated for them, and feeling helpless that I can’t “do” more for them. I mean, as a woman, I’m only marginally accepted by the church myself! 😉

    Anger is a tough emotion for me – I don’t do it well.

  3. Bill permalink
    February 22, 2007 2:17 pm

    I had to save that picture. People are always thinking that I’m over-reacting. I guess I’m not. Thoughts like the one pictured get people killed. And they laugh. I find it very hard in my heart to pray for people like this. I know that Jesus would but then that’s why we love him.

  4. Mystical Seeker permalink
    February 22, 2007 5:11 pm

    Fundamentalism is definitely evil. Sometimes I get carried away myself with anger over the things it teaches. When something is an evil force in society, who is to say that we shouldn’t get angry once in a while?

  5. Eileen permalink
    February 22, 2007 5:14 pm

    It’s true, Mystical – we should definitely be able to call out evil where we see it and get good and angry about it. Anger is just hard for me – I feel it, but I have a hard time expressing it, especially face to face.

    My parents are both ACoAs – we had alot of emotional gatekeeping in my household. So, now I struggle with how to feel and express anger in healthy ways.

    But this kind of stuff makes me very ANGRY.

  6. Grandmère Mimi permalink
    February 22, 2007 7:09 pm

    We had Phelps’ folks picket our little church. What they do is ugly, truly ugly, but I found them pathetic in a certain sense. Can you imagine that they have children with them when they do their dirty business. Growing up in that atmosphere of hate must be terrible for those kids. They’re spending days listening to their parents shout out hate, and having to look at the hateful signs.

  7. PseudoPiskie permalink
    February 22, 2007 11:24 pm

    Bill: you can always pray for those fleas of a thousand camels…

    I agree about kids who grow up with hate. And in God’s name? How many pages of their Bible have they excised? How will they function if they ever have to be out in “normal” society? sad

Leave a Reply

